Massachusetts General Laws (Chapter 140, Section 137 & 137A) require a dog six months of age and over be licensed. All dogs must be licensed by March 31st. Failure to license your dog will result in a $30.00 fine in addition to the license fee. You may license your dog by mail by providing the information requested on the application and mail it to the Town Clerk with a SELF-ADDRESSED-STAMPED envelope and a check for the appropriate amount made payable to: The Town of Longmeadow
*Important Notice – Dog License Penalty Change Effective January 2016*
At the Special Town Meeting held on November 18, 2014 the registered voters approved the following change to the Town of Longmeadow’s General Bylaws:
5-319. Dog License Penalty:
Effective January 1, 2016, to change the penalty from Fifteen Dollars ($15) to Thirty Dollars ($30) and to change date for the imposition of such penalty from sixty (60) to thirty (30) days of the due date so that, as amended, said Section 5-319 would read as follows:
A penalty of Thirty Dollars ($30) shall be imposed after written notification to dog owners of an annual fee in addition to any other basic license fee, for any dog license purchased more than thirty (30) days after the due date, said penalty to be retained by the Town.
Dog license by-laws are required in Massachusetts for all dogs age six (6) months and older and the Town of Longmeadow strictly enforces these by-laws.